Attacks misrepresenting the FairTax - the national retail sales tax - fail to beat candidates nationwide, with at least 33 of 51 winning their races.

To: National Desk Political Reporter

Contact: Tom Wright or Genie Hayes at 1-800-FAIRTAX ex 137, both of FairTax.org

HOUSTON November 3, 2004 - "Candidates attacked via the FairTax (national retail sales tax) won nationwide, despite brutal, often illegal, campaign tactics backed by millions of dollars," stated Tom Wright, executive director of FairTax.org. "The attacks started with a campaign of lies and half-truths in South Carolina, yet Senator-elect Jim DeMint won handily. The attacks spread to illegal push polls in some 50 senate and congressional races, yet the overwhelming majority of assaulted candidates won. Most won despite being ill- prepared to defend the FairTax, as most were not co-sponsors."

"Without making light of the welter of attacks nationwide, there were many races where the FairTax virtually defended itself," continued Wright. "In the heat of a campaign, neither an incumbent nor a candidate expects such a well-orchestrated attack based on legislation they have never co-sponsored nor supported. Of 47 candidates, 25 had no prior position on the FairTax at all, and only seven were co-sponsors. We thank these candidates who took the drubbing on behalf of honest tax replacement. We're also impressed that the voters saw through the attacks to the core of the issue - where we've shown attempts at partisan silver bullets do not pierce our Kevlar, non-partisan solution."

"The architects of this folly - clearly those with special-interest attachment to our current failed internal revenue and Social Security tax system - used every partisan trick in the book," continued Wright. "Illegal push polls to gauge voter reaction. If those lies bit, they initiated radio, TV, direct mail, and spam to the tune of millions of dollars."

"We're delighted that our legislation has become such a threat to the supporters of the current, failed tax systems," stated Wright. "The FairTax is a non-partisan issue that honestly detaxes the working poor of America, which the current system does not. Ends audits on earned income tax credit filers. Ends our working poor's most regressive enemy, Social Security withholding. Reduces effective tax rates on Social Security recipients. Reduces effective tax rates on the middle class. Successfully taxes the wealthy according to their lifestyle. Successfully taxes the accumulated assets of the wealthy. Replaces narrow, regressive payroll taxes funding our unsound Social Security system with broad, progressive sales taxes. Ends civil liberty intrusions well beyond Patriot Act trifles. All this with a system that extracts the same revenue from the economy as the current systems, ensuring revenue neutrality as well as price stability."

Methodology

FairTax.org compiled the following data from grassroots reports, FEC complaints, and our FairTax scorecard. These data are as accurate and complete as possible under difficult circumstances. Anywhere we post a Yes, we have some form of confirmation that this did occur. Anywhere we post a No, we believe this to be correct, but can't provide absolute

assurances. Any ND (no data) represents just that. For more specific information, we suggest contacting the campaign directly.

*Winner **Likely winner

House races								
District	Attack target	Position	Opponent	Push Poll	TV	Radio	Mail	Other
AZ-01	Rick Renzi*	leans for	Paul Babbitt	Yes	No	No	No	No
CO-03	Greg Walcher Marilyn	no position	John Salazar Stan	Yes	No	No	No	No
CO-04	Musgrave**	no position	Matsunaka	Yes	No	No	No	Newspaper ads
CT-02	Rob Simmons*	no position	Jim Sullivan Paul	Yes	Yes	No	No	No
DE-01	Michael Castle*	no position	Donnelly	Yes	ND	ND	ND	ND
GA-07	John Linder*	cosponsor	no opponent	Yes	No	No	No	No
								Yard
GA-12	Max Burns	cosponsor	John Barrow Paul	Yes	Yes	Yes	ND	signs,Outdoor
IA-04	Tom Latham*	leans against	Johnson	Yes	No	No	No	No
IL-08	Philip Crane	leans for	Melissa Bean	Yes	No	No	No	No
IN-02	Chris Chocola*	leans for	Joe Donnelly	Yes	No	No	No	No
IN-08	John Hostettler*	no position	Jon Jennings	Yes	No	No	No	No
IN-09	Mike Sodrel	no position	Baron Hill	Yes	Yes	No	No	No
			Dennis					
KS-03	Kris Kobach	for ¹	Moore	Yes	Yes	No	Yes	No
KY-03	Anne Northup*	leans against ¹	Tony Miller	Yes	No	No	No	No
KY-04	Geoffrey Davis*	no position	Nick Clooney	Yes	No	No	No	No
			Ben					
KY-06	Tom Buford	for ¹	Chandler	Yes	No	No	No	No
MN-02	John Klein*	no position	Teresa Daly	No	Yes	No	No	No
MN-06	Mark Kennedy*	leans for	Patty Wetterling	No	No	Yes	No	No
MO-05	Jeanne Lillig- Patterson	no position	Emanuel Cleaver	Yes	No	No	No	No
MO-06	Sam Graves*	cosponsor	Charlie Broomfield	Yes	No	No	No	No
MO-09	Kenny C. Hulshof*	no position	Linda Jacobsen	Yes	ND	ND	ND	ND
NC-11	Charles Taylor*	cosponsor	Patsy Keever	Yes	Yes	ND	ND	ND
NC-12 ¹	Ada Fisher	no position	Mel Watt	Yes	ND	ND	ND	ND
NE-01	Jeff Fortenberry*	no position	Matt Connealy	Yes	Yes	ND	ND	ND
NM-01	Heather Wilson*	leans for	Richard Romero	Yes	ND	ND	ND	ND
NM-02	Steve Pearce*	cosponsor	Gary King	Yes	ND	ND	ND	ND

			Shelly					
NV-01 ¹	Russ Mickelson	no position	Berkley	Yes	ND	ND	ND	ND
			Tom					
NV-03	Jon Porter*	leans for	Gallagher	Yes	ND	ND	ND	ND
	Steve							
OH-14	LaTourette*	no position	Capri Cafaro	Yes	ND	ND	ND	ND
		leans for,						
PA-06	Jim Gerlach	Fair or flat	Lois Murphy	Yes	No	No	No	No
	Michael		Ginny					
PA-08	Fitzpatrick*	leans against	Schrader	Yes	ND	ND	ND	ND
PA-09	Bill Shuster*	no position	Paul Politis	Yes	ND	ND	ND	ND
			Allyson					
PA-13	Melissa Brown	no position	Schwartz	Yes	No	No	No	No
	William L.		Graham					
TN-01 ¹	Jenkins*	no position	Leonard	Yes	ND	ND	ND	ND
TX-01	Louie Gohmert*	Fair or flat	Max Sandlin	Yes	Yes	No	2X	No
		FairTax	Nick					
TX-02	Ted Poe*	supporter	Lampson	Yes	No	No	Yes	No
	Arlene		Chet					
TX-17	Wohlgemuth	supporter	Edwards	Yes	Yes	ND	ND	ND
	Randy		Chuck					
TX-19	Neugbauer*	cosponsor	Stenholm	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	ND
								Yard signs,
TX-32	Pete Sessions*	cosponsor	Martin Frost	Yes	Yes	Yes	ND	outdoor
			2	Yes (2				
VA-02	Thelma Drake*	no position	David Ashe ²	rounds)			No	No
VA-09	Kevin Triplett	no position	Rick Boucher	Yes	No	No	No	No
	Cathy	leans for, via						
WA-05	McMorris*	debate	Barberri	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes

Senate races

District	Attack target	Position	Opponent	Push Poll	TV	Radio	Mail	Other
CO	Pete Coors	leans for	Ken Salazar	No	Yes	ND	ND	ND
FL ³	Mel Martinez	leans for	Betty Castor	No	No	ND	ND	ND
GA	Johnny Isakson*	cosponsor	Denise Majette	No	Yes	No	No	No
LA	David Vitter*	Fair or flat	Chris John	Yes	No	No	No	No
NC	Richard Burr*	Fair or flat	Erskine Bowles	No	No	No	No	No
OK	Tom Coburn*	leans for	Brad Carson	Yes	No	No	Yes	No
SC	Jim DeMint*	cosponsor	Inez Tenenbaum	No	Yes	Yes	Yes	No
SD	John Thune	leans for	Tom Daschle	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND

¹ Via press statements

² Ashe has stated he is "interested" in the FairTax.

³ They evidently steered totally clear of Florida, Arkansas, Michigan, Alaska, California.